Making a rub because I'm bored

Dave L.

TVWBB Pro
It's cold outside and I'm bored so here is a rub I would like to make. Any thoughts would be welcome. More or less of anything or omit anything?

1/4 Cup Graulated Maple Sugar
1/4 Cup Smoked Paprika
3 Tablespoons Black Pepper
2 Teaspoons Onion Powder
2 Teaspoons Garlic Powder
2 Teaspoons Celery Seeds
1 Teaspoon Cayenne Pepper
1 Teaspoon Mustard Powder
1/2 Teaspoon Nutmeg
1/2 Teaspoon Ground Ginger
1/2 Teaspoon Oregano
1/2 Teaspoon Thyme

Dave,

One thing is for sure...the maple sugar is a great idea. That stuff is delicious...I'm curing some bacon with it now.
Definately not cheap though!
icon_frown.gif

Thanks Phil,How does the rest sound? I'm new at making rub and still trying to figure out which spices taste with each other.

Dave,

What would you put this rub on? That would be one of the first things in my mind. There is no right or wrong answer as to what should go into your rub; it comes down to what tastes good to you. You probably want a rub that will compliment and enhance the flavor of the meat. This is just my opinion, but you've got a lot of paprika in the recipe. Personally I've never been able to taste much of paprika in a rub. It does add color, and I really think that's why a majority of the commercial rubs include it, but so do a whole variety of chiles. Chiles, like a nice ancho will provide both flavor and color. Your recipe also has a lot of sugar (by proportion) and with most meats, I personally don't like a rub with sugar. Some add it to balance out the heat of pepper or chiles, but I would recommend cut back on the heat. Jamie Purviance wrote about balance. Read that short thread and have fun experimenting! And if you can, but fresh or quality spices and herbs from someone like Penzeys, it will make a difference. Share your results with us!!