Hey Smoker Joe Guys!

S Mitchell

TVWBB Pro
I was wondering how long of a burn do you get on your smoker joes without adding fuel? I am getting more and more interested in doing this for tailgating with apps and such. Plus it's just cool looking!

I got about 6 tonight using lump.
The last hour of it was barely at 200 though.

It's also 15 degrees outside here, and I'm a noob.

S - I haven't used Smoker Joe for long cooks in cold weather, but I have routinely gotten 9 hours using lump or K, but I added an inverted stainless steel puppy bowl over the bottom vent with four 3/8 inch holes drilled along the top edge of the bowl to aid in keeping ash from clogging the bottom vent.

Pat

Without ash control I am getting about 4 hours. Made 3 racks of loin backs just tonight. 4 hours on lump, but the temp held at 200-225 degrees for 4 hours. I just put the ribs on and came back 4 hours later, and they were done.

Jay

Originally posted by S Mitchell:
Sorry for not being clear. Yes, I want to do the tamale steamer mod.

No problem. It depends a lot of what you are cooking. I cooked 16 pounds of rib roasts and i got almost 4 hours out of it with no problems. You can get a lot longer with smaller cuts of meat.

But here something important to keep in mind. Adding fuel is almost a complete non-issue with this thing. The tamale pot section has handles, it's light, and it gives you total access to the fire at waist level (cause the whole thing is so light you can put it on a table if you want). So adding fuel is no big deal at all so unless you are talking about overnight cooks, I wouldn't even worry about it.

Every time I use it I always amazed how my little homemade smoker the easiest cooker to work with that I've own.

I agree with adding fuel, totally a non issue. And super simple. If all you have to do is add fuel every 4 hours you are set.