Balsamic

Nathan Bauer

TVWBB Fan
I got a bottle of really nice balsamic as a gift a few months ago. Problem is I have very little experience cooking with it. Any good ideas?

Yes. DON'T COOK WITH IT!

Really nice, aged Balsamic (especially vinegars labeled aceto balsamico tradizionale) are too complex to cook with. Think of it as a fine sauce to add to, literally, anything.

Here's some ideas:

-a drizzle over a perfectly grilled steak or chop adds acidity that cuts through the fat and a touch of sweetness that goes against the salt.

-a little on any vegetable dish as a finishing sauce brightens up the veggies.

-stir about a teaspoon into thick soups like pumpkin or potato to add spicy, nutmegy edge.

-pour it on very good vanilla ice cream for something that I think is better than chocolate sauce.

It really does go with everything. Just don't heat it up (let residual heat from the food do that) and don't use it in a vinaigrette because it'll get lost. And use it sparingly. We brought back 2 bottles of tradizionale from an acetaia in Modena almost 5 years ago, and we still haven't finished the first bottle. A little bit goes a LONG way!

Enjoy

Stan

How about a nice fresh caprese salad...
P1000787.jpg

I pretty much disagree. Many balsamics are labeled as tradizionale but it does not mean they are, are worthy of the designation, or need any special kid glove handing.

Some that are quite expensive (I have a few that run upwards of $150 for a tiny bottle) should not be messed with - and should be used rather sparingly - but there are dozens (most in fact) that do quite well in vinaigrettes and other dressings, in sauces (cooked or not), reduced into syrups, etc.

Kevin,