New way to soak chips.

I saw this device at Expo Design Center (part of Home Depot) last weekend but it seems to be somewhat of an overkill just for soaking wood chips. I suppose it could have some other uses as well.

It's probably just another gadget to buy and then search around for when you need it and have forgotten where you put it last. However, since Weber makes it, I'll probably end up buying one - I really need to work on that.

It might make it a little easier to shake the water off the chips. Too much water left on them can have a bad effect of the briqs. I think a more helpful trick would be a way to see that the chips submerge rather than float on top of the water. That way they would be fully soaked and probably give a longer burn time.

Paul

I got a plastic cup (w/lid) from the NC ZOO when I ordered a drink. I've been using it for more than 5 yrs to soak wood chips in... Still works fine. No need for replacement.

The tall shape of a cup does keep almost all chips completely submerged.

My old coffee tins work fine, I just poke some holes in the plactic lid to drain out the liquid. An overkill gadget indeed.

I wonder where this product comes from, because it's not listed in the Accessories section of www.weber.com, and I've never seen it there in years past. Maybe a special promotional item?

Regards,
Chris

I picked up a 2005 Weber product line catalog about a month ago and this is in it. It said available January 2005. This is the only place I have seen it for sale. I am surprised its not on Amazon. I wonder if they are having second thoughts on distributing this product.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Doug D:
Yes, it is. (Sort of...) </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I would hate to think that was my travel mug of coffee and take a swig of it.