Potential sauce recipe

Chris W.

TVWBB Pro
I'm just getting into making my own sauces. Last night, I made a batch of Fat Johnny's Bastardized Peidmont sauce ( click for link). I haven't had a chance to try it on food yet, but after moving it off the stove, I dipped my finger in to see if it was still warm and tasted my finger after. It was great and I really liked it. The only thing of the recipe I don't like is the fact that I have to use someone else's BBQ sauce in it. I'm looking for something I can make from scratch and really call my own.

Awhile back I used the No. 5 sauce as a finishing sauce for a pork butt (again, click for link). I enjoyed the sauce, but found it not spicy enough, and have decided to use it as a take-off for my own sauce. Before making it up and finding I hated it, I wanted to get people's opinion on how it might come out and if I'm using approximately the right amount of extra ingredients. I want to make the No. 5 sauce a bit more spicy than it is, but not too terribly spicy. Somewhere between the No. 5 sauce and the Fat Johnny's sauce in terms of spiciness would be good.

EDIT: An update recipe reflecting Kevin Kruger's input is in a post further down the thread. You might want to jump to that. \EDIT

My recipe is below:

1 cup ketchup
1/2 cup cider vinegar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 Tablespoon worchestershire sauce
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon dry mustard
1 Tablespoon onion powder

Does anyone think this might have too much spiciness in it? When I tasted Fat Johnny's sauce, I liked it, but the real test will be the ribs this Sunday. I know this recipe shouldn't be as spicy as Fat Johnny's, but it should be more spicy than the No. 5 sauce, which is what I'm going for - something in the middle of those two sauces.

What does everyone think? Is this worth attempting? Would you make any changes to any of the quantities?