Vacumm sealer recommendations ?

JSMcdowell

TVWBB All-Star
I just read over Tim's post in this forum, but there didn't seem to be model recommendations. Price is of course a factor, but as much as I have been using mine lately, I have no problems paying for a good one.

I currently have the very small Foodsaver model, that will only handle 8" rolls. It's been great, but time to move up.

I freeze a lot of uncooked & cooked meats. Not sure if I would be big on the canister sealing, but would consider it.

Let me know which ones you have liked and disliked.

Thanks in advance!

Hi Josh I've made posts on this in the past. Should be in the archives.

I have a more expensive one that I have been using for 3 years or more now without any problems. It has a 15" wide seal bar. It will take 15" wide material. This is really handy and allows me to seal most anything I run into. Whole cakes, pies, etc. Large pieces of meat and other stuff. Full casseroles, etc. Using roll bag material from 6,8,11,15" widths also adds tons of flexibility of odd sized items. And you can make your own bags from the rolls themselves if you want. A heavier duty unit is handy for that as well. I don't, I just keep roll stock on hand as well as bags.

It will also seal the smaller bags two at a time due to that width.

It can also be used with the accessories from foodsaver. I have used the canisters, but now just use them for storage as I found they did't hold vacuum reliably. I have used the jar attachments but they can be a pain as you have to fiddle with them a lot and the lid seal has to be almost perfect. Find some jars that work and some that don't.

The seal on this unit is really wide too .22". So it is very reliable and less particular if there is fine debris or other issue. More forgiving. You never have to hold down on the bar/lid while the unit is sealing. Might have to just touch it lightly sometimes at the start but that's about it.