18" vs 22"

Michael P

Perhaps it has been asked a bunch of times already? I'm going to be ordering my new WSM but because I'm new at the smoking side of Weber cooking, I was wondering if someone could tell me why I'll want a 22.5" versus the 18.5"? Pros & Cons? Thanks.

The only reason to choose the 22" version over the 18" version is because it is bigger. Bigger cooking grates mean you have increased cooking capacity. They also mean you can cook larger cuts of meat more easily. See the photos from the test cooks I did with the 22" version to see how loin back ribs lay flat and big briskets fit easily in the 22" version compared to the 18" version. There is also some additional vertical space between top and bottom cooking grates and between the top grate and the top of the lid. For example, you could cook a bigger turkey on the top grate of the 22" version than on the 18" version.

Having said all that, I believe the 18" version will meet the needs of most people most of the time.

If you decide to order a WSM from Amazon.com, I hope you'll click the Amazon link here on TVWB before adding the item to your shopping cart, as this helps to provide financial support for this website. Thanks for your consideration.

Regards,
Chris

Thanks Crhis. I love the idea of having a larger capacity when needed? My concern is, will the 22" require more charcoal to cook each time even if I'm doing say, a single turkey?

Yes, I believe it will require more fuel each time used. It's a bigger oven and it takes more fuel to heat a bigger oven than a smaller one.

I just purchased the 22" from amazon (comes Tuesday!) and I've heard alot of people commenting about how it will use more fuel. This was also a concern of mine, but I really wanted the capacity. My question to the forum is, does anybody have an idea of how much more fuel the 22" uses, as opposed to the 18"? A percentage or any ideas/thoughs at all would be appreciated?

Thanks,