My first try on smoked turkey.

Geir Widar

TVWBB Wizard
This is my first try on smoked turkey.
I know how to make a very juicy turkey in the oven, and I have not been quite sure if I would enjoy the smoke taste on poultry.
This weekend I just had to give it a try. Here’s the result of my feeble attempts:
First of all, I brined the turkey as usual in 5% brine. I’ve done this for years, so nothing new here. I always separate the turkey into bone in breast and thigh. I make broth of the leftovers.
Here are the turkey parts. As always, injected with beurre clarifié and some dried spices, ground to dust. Brushed the skin with melted butter and some dried red peppers/black pepper mixture.

Notice the extra breast, for pastrami, dry cured for four days. I will make pastrami of that one, and smoke it in the WSM when the temps are going down, just with fresh smoke wood added. I used apple wood, two small chunks for the turkey, and a couple of new pieces of alder when I added the extra breast.
So, after two and a half hours on the WSM, this was the result. I took the pieces off the WSM at an internal temperature of 155 degrees F.

Rested for at least a half an hour before cutting:
The dark meat:

The breast:

Plated, with amarone potatoes, braised vegetables and broth based gravy thickened with butter and white flour.
I added a light drizzle of Swedish lemon scented finger salt. Cunning people, the swedes..
icon_smile.gif

Now, I’m not too happy. The cook ended up pretty much as I assumed.
The turkey was juicy, yes, but not super juicy. I do not want to brag, but my turkey usually turns out as mentioned.
Smoking is fun, but I think I’ll use my stove as usual. The subtle smoke flavor did not add anything that I cannot live without.
Any suggestions for improvement?
Thank you for reading, and as usual- click on the pictures for larger ones.