Peppers for faster or more forward heat vs slow heat?

Chris Hill

Posting this question after making a batch of chili this weekend. The peppers in it were powdered de arbol, ancho, aleppo [not aji as first posted, my mistake], paprika, california, cumin-based curry powder, chili powder, and cayenne for some extra heat. The heat was a slower build which hits a second or two after you taste it. I recall other chilis which have a faster or more forward heat to them, so you get the heat right when it hits your tongue, although I am curious about what and why the heat hits faster in some foods than in others.

What peppers have a faster heat profile? Is it the pepper prep (powder vs fresh, toasting, etc)? Is it other things in the recipe that help the heat hit sooner?

Welcome Chris,

I'm not a chili expert but I think 2 things can affect the speed in which you detect the heat. 1) The type of chili. I find chili pequins yield a heat up front.
2) The other factor is what the chili is cooked with. Certain foods such as starches, sugars and dairy products temper the heat.

That's what comes to mind for me. If you want more heat up front, you might also try increasing the amount of chili pepper in a recipe.

Paul

Chris, personally I prefer the heat to sneak up on you. I've found when judging BBQ that when you get hit with the heat up front usually that's all I could taste after that especially when it's REALLY hot

Thanks, guys. I'll give pequins a try. And I agree with you Paul H, flavor is a higher priority than the heat. I started with the de arbol rather than cayenne for the better flavor, and ultimately added a bit of cayenne to bump up the heat.