How to weigh down a canopy

fred nevill

TVWBB Member
Howdy all, I have entered my first comp but if things work out plan on about 3-5 more this year. Since I am just starting out I bought a First-up canopy at Walmart.

I figure if the comps are somewhere where I can stake down and tie down the canopy I would be fine. However I am wondering what to do if the comps are in parking lots or somewhere I cannot stake down.

I have seen that there are sand bags that wrap around the legs I can buy but I feel they are way to expensive and I would never get them in on time anyways. But I was thinking, which is VERY dangerous, that if I bought 4 5gallon buckets and filled them with water there would be enough weight to hold down the canopy and then after each use I could just dump the water rather than hauling around that extra weight.

Am I way off on this or is there a better idea that I have not thought about?

That works pretty well, I know several people that use that method. I made my own weights out of 4" PVC pipe filled with concrete. They weigh about the same as a 5 gal bucket of water but they have much smaller footprint so they are not a trip hazard. They work pretty well.

Fred, I compete and carry 6 empty 5 gal buckets. 4 of them I use for canopy weights when filled with H2O. The other 2 I use for drain buckets. They are light weight as you mention, you can stack them inside each other and fill the final one with stuff, space savers and they are relatively CHEAP!. Keep your tie down lines taught, and you should be able to withstand a good wind.

Mark

I used to use those spiral augers if it was a grass field but several times the ground was so hard packed that I couldn't get them down. A few times it was so soft that they wouldn't hold. On streets or parking lot I just took my chances. My last comp in Ocala showed me how wrong I was thinking. I saw several teams get their EZ-Ups wrecked in a matter of 5 minutes.