New to the WSM - having trouble with ribs

Eric Simon

TVWBB Fan
Greetings, all! I am new to the world of smoking and am anxious to figure it all out. I received a new 18" WSM for my birthday and have been practicing with babyback ribs.

I think I may be having a problem with the built-in temperature gauge; I think it may be reading about 50 degrees too cool (i.e. it reads 225 when it is really 275).

Yesterday, I cooked some lovely babyback ribs. I started by applying a mustard/balsamic wet rub. Then I gave a generous sprinkling of a homemade rib rub. I put the rack in a large ziplock and left it in the fridge overnight. The next day, I let it sit at room temperature for an hour to warm up. Here is how it looked:
http://i534.photobucket.com/al...mon/BBQ/P5280034.jpg

(BTW, I am not sure the best way to post/link photos on the board.)

Isn't that a nice looking rack of ribs? :) I fired up the grill with a full chimney of coals and ran a modified Minion method. I put the ribs on the top rack and let it sit undisturbed for 3 hours, keeping the temp (according to the built-in) at 200-225. Here is how they looked after 3 hours:

http://i534.photobucket.com/al...mon/BBQ/P5280038.jpg

At that point, I put them in a foil along with a sprinkling of balsamic, placed them on the bottom rack, and ran them for another hour (total: 4 hours). Here is how they looked at the end of the 4th hour:

http://i534.photobucket.com/al...mon/BBQ/P5280039.jpg

http://i534.photobucket.com/al...mon/BBQ/P5280040.jpg

Don't those look overdone at only 4 hours? The meat seems to be pulled too far off the bone. When I picked them up with tongs to transfer back to the top rack, the rack almost split into two (i.e. it seemed too soft). Well, I sauced them (homemade), sprinkling some maple sugar, and ran them for another hour. Here is how they looked after the total of 5 hours:

http://i534.photobucket.com/al...mon/BBQ/P5280046.jpg