Beef short ribs, need a simple recipe to being

Ryan D

I've been doing pork ribs for several years, but recently found beef ribs (short ribs) in a supermarket at a really good price. So I tried some, and marinaded them in a red wine vinegar and soy based marinade, then rubbed in a brown sugar and paprika basic rub, then mesquite smoked for 6 hours.

They were good but seemed a little too much flavour. I didn't dare add a sauce, but I did use vinegar and some KC Masterpiece and woostershire sauce in the foil when I foiled them. A sauce would have made them way too rich.

What is the basic recipe I should start with to learn abuot been ribs? Has anyone got any hints please?

All the recipies I have googled so far start with a marinade that seems based on things like red wine vinegar or soy sauce. Although I agree those go well with beef, I'm not sure if I should use them to start as it all seemed too much.

Should I just go plain? All my books which are aimed at beginners focus on pork!

Thanks in advance
Ryan

Ryan,
I won't proclaim to be any kind of expert on beef ribs myself. I usually only buy them when they're $1.94 U.S./kilo for my dogs.

But I will throw this out:
Korean, (or flanken ribs as they're referred by to here) marinated overnight in a teryaki base and then grilled over high/direct heat are awesome.

The best (whole) ribs I've had are the ribs cut from a slow roasted rib roast (prime rib) removed, sauced and grilled over high heat again. These are to die for. I would think you could best duplicate them on the rack by dry rubbing with herbs, salt and pepper and then smoking with a minimal amount of subtle smoke for a few hours. Then saucing for the last few minutes.

I too am eager for additional responses.

A few weeks back I made some incredibly tasty beef short ribs, which were done without a marinade. Here's the recipe:

Jennifer’s Beef Short Ribs

2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp kosher salt
1 tbsp paprika
1 tbsp garlic salt
1 tsp ground black pepper