Jamaican Jerk Chicken on the WSM

G

I am fairly new to using the WSM. Tried a new recipe today that came out very well. There is an excellent recipe for spicy Jamaican "jerk" chicken available at the Epicurious site at this link:
http://www.epicurious.com/run/recipe/view?id=106516

I made the marinade as decribed in the recipe, except I had to substitute serrano chiles for the habaneros because I couldn't find them. I cut up a couple of chickens into leg quarters and cut the breasts in half to allow good contact with the marinade. After overnight in the marinade, I cooked the chicken using the directions in Chris' "Chicken, Chicken" under Let's Cook. Water in the pan, target temp was 250, used a small amount of hickory to give a nice smokiness that would go well with the heavy spices. Since it was snowing and low 30's here in PA, I never reached the target temp (most of the cook was around 230), so it took more than four hours to get to the right internal temperature. I probably should have gone with a dry pan and/or used a lot more fuel given the weather. Anyway, the flavor of the chicken was excellent (if you like things a bit spicy) and the marinade kept the chicken nice and moist. I will try harder to find the habaneros next time, because after the long cook it wasn't quite as hot as I would have liked.

Anybody else "do the jerk" in their WSM?

Hey Mike, thanks for the link. My girlfriend picked up some Jamaican Jerk Paste from the local deli, and it's very similar to that recipe (minus the garlic). I am tempted to try it tomorrow, but I've never used a paste on a BBQ chicken before. So for the first cook I'll probably "go with what I know" and use the cheapo Kikoman Teriyaki marinade. But once I get more experience with the WSM, I'll try some new recipes, and the JERK is definitely on the horizon.