Internal Temp???

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

HElp out a novice here. Why do we bbq to an internal temp of 185 (in this case for a briskett)? Seems that's overdone to me. Thanks and I just did my first Briskett. Held the WSM at between 235 and 250 for 11 hours using the Minion method. Added no coals and it's still burning at 225 3 hours later.

"Done" is a relative term. Different cuts of meat are best cooked using different methods, depending on tenderness, fat content, etc. Yes, a boneless, skinless chicken breast can be cooked over high heat to an internal temp of 160? and be nicely "done". Try that with a brisket, and you may as well try to eat your shoe. /infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Steve

Brisket and pork butt for example contain a lot conective tissue and to break it down you need to take to these cuts to higher internal temps. A brisket depending on the amount of internal fat may have to go to 195 to 200?+ to become tender.
A steak or other beef cuts you may want to only take to 125 to 135? internal, it just depends on the cut your talking about.
Jim