feature? staged temperature limits?

Johannes S

TVWBB Member
as i already mentioned in another thread, i own a qmaster senior as well. one great feature of this pid controller is that it can hand over pit control from pit probe to meat probe.
EG: so you set pit probe hold 115°C (240F). you now can set an alarm to inform your when your bbq reaches 92°C (198F). but this won't change a thing. you can now lower temp by script or do something else.
what qmaster does: it hands over pit control to the bbq probe. so you want the meat to maintain 92°C (198F) for 2h and change the pit temperature accordingly. after that, as your guests have not arrived yet, you want to keep the meat warm and automatically set bbq temp to 70"C (160F) for infinity, and pit temp is controlled by bbq temp.
maybe this is already possible and i haven't found it. if not: what do you thing about it?

would you mind sharing this script? has anyone done that before and wants to share? i'm no coder so this is a bit above my horizon. (i read the scripting wiki pages of course)

I've heard of ramp and hold scripts for the HM but none that re-assign the pit probe? I had long requested a feature in the HM that would allow you to choose the pit probe among the 4 available, Bryan indicated that was more of a programing issue than he wanted to tackle. (I think it has something to do with the web page display and rearranging the probe that is displayed as PIT PROBE, and or the LCD display on the HM unit). So to my knowledge that feature has never been included in the HM, however, some time ago I came up with the idea to make the Pit Probe flow down stream, meaning, if you disable PROBE 0 then Probe 1 becomes the pit probe, if Probe 0 & 1 are disabled then Probe 2 becomes the pit probe.... This feature is nice and currently in place, however, it still doesn't directly allow you to SELECT the probe to use as the pit probe.