HeaterMeter Noob - Is it hard to build?

Charlie Nguyen

TVWBB Member
Hi Yall,

I'm looking for new project this spring and building a cabinet and HeaterMeter setup are on the top of my list. I know i have the carpentry down... but the more i read about the HeaterMeter the less confident I feel about doing it on my own.

I have the Raspberry Pi 2, but i'm hesitant on buying the parts for the HeaterMeter. Is it recommended doing it on my own if this is my first time building a board? or is it safer to just get one from someone on the forum...? or is it a lot easier than it seems...?

It'll be great to hear from all the veterans and all the fellow noobs how they felt the difficulty of the project was.

The first question would be, what experience have you had at soldering? Welcome to the forum.

I built the 4.0. It didn't require any SMC soldering. My soldering experience was very very minimal. I mostly had only soldered larger gauge wire together to install a car stereo or the like. I found it to be easy to assemble. If you plan on using a thermocouple, there may be some SMC soldering involved. That would make soldering much more difficult, I believe. But, I'm somewhat speculating when I say that because I haven't done any. It just looks like it would be more difficult. I'd still tackle that if I decided to build a newer version with a thermocouple, though. The worst I could do is screw it up :) and have to start over or find someone with better soldering skills.

I was thinking of going that route as well, but I'm so cheap... I'm trying to convince myself that paying the extra 40-50 bucks is worth it.