Pellet Grill Control

I am getting ready to get a pellet grill and was thinking that if the there was a way to make the servo pin on/off control, the heater meter would work well for a pellet grill.

I am not good at software, but the heatermeter could be used to drive SSRs for the fan and auger.

Basically the servo be set to 100% when greater than 0, and this drive the fan, and the auger is driven by the fan using the 100% min option. PIDs would obviously have to be adjusted but I was wondering how difficult that modification to the code would be, and if there are other people interested.

The servo output isn't an on/off sort of thing. It is a pulse that's roughly 0.1ms-2.5ms long with a 20ms period. Running 100% at the largest setting is only going to get you roughly 10% duty cycle on the output. To do what you want you'd throw out all the servo code completely and make it on/off control or something.

You could always attach a servo to a manual switch that turns on and off something or use the blower output to drive some other sort of circuit. I thought pellet grills already had temp controllers though?

Pellet Grills to have temp controllers, but most are not wifi, and don't give you the logging that the heatermeter does.

How difficult would it be to make a selection box in the UI for servo or on/off, I am going to look into it tonight, but I like the idea of using this pin because it is already wired out.

There's servo full open/close only but that's not going to do what you want because it is still going to be a 50hz signal that only occupies 10% of the time period.

Brian, i downloaded the code and looking at how to modify it, I found where it is set to 50hz. I am not a programmer, but wondering if the refresh rate being set in the UI is something that you have considered. I am not sure how difficult that is or if there would be a benefit for anyone but me with what I am wanting to do.