Calculating Humidity / insert new graph on HM homepage

Olli Bavaro

Hello guys,
As suggested from Bryan I start a new thread about this topic =)

Thanks to the 4 possible probes on the HM I was experimenting with calculating the humidity inside my smoker. Easiest way is to use
a wet and dry bulb temperature. I transformed probe 4 into a wet bulb thermo using a cotton shoe lace. Now my question is, if it is
possible to do a real time calculation / graph of the humidity using these formulas. I'm no HTML pro so fiddling with the existing or copy & paste
is currently the maximum I can perform =(

http://easycalculation.com/weather/dewpoint-humidity-calculator.php

I found this temperature quiet interesting in estimating "the stall" and keeping the meet moist and juicy.

http://modernistcuisine.com/2012/08/barbecue-stall/

Bryan also stated:
"The value could be calculated in the HTML but the graph comes from the database, so that means the humidity would have to be calculated on the backend and the database would have to be modified to hold the value. You'd also need to know the pressure but it appears that you can just use a standard average and it doesn't affect the output too much."

I think since a smoker is not air tight the outside pressure would be sufficient. If you are living in Salt Lake City or high up in the Alps this could result in a
major error if we take just a mean value. Perhaps it needs to be possible to insert your height or outside pressure :D

Regards
Olli

I'm very interested in this concept, on account of
emot-science.gif
SCIENCE and all.

So you just take a piece of shoelace and put it around the Maverick probe, then put the end in a puddle of water? Doesn't the water evaporate quickly inside of the BBQ? I agree you can probably use just an average pressure for your location. This and a drop down selection for which probe is being used for the wet bulb would be all that is needed.