Wife bought me a 22.5 now I'm ready to smoke.....

ChaseW

TVWBB Member
My amazing wife bought me a 22.5 WSM for my birthday. I'm a veteran griller but this is my first venture into smoking. I'm planning on trying a couple of racks of ribs and a couple of whole chickens this weekend. I wanted to do a butt for my first smoke because I know those are more forgiving but I don't have 12-15 hours this weekend free and I don't think I can wait another weekend. My plan is to try and get the WSM to sit between 250-275 and do the ribs with probably a 3-1-1, 3 on grill, 1 in foil then back out of foil and check for doneness every 30-45 minutes. Do you think that will be too much? I will throw the chickens on when I foil the ribs so they finish around the same time. I'm thinking 2-2 1/2 for the chickens. If they take longer than ribs no big deal.

I have a Maverick 733 to use for temp check and another probe thermometer to put in the second bird.

How much charcoal do you think I should load in for a rib/chicken cook? I was thinking 2/3 a basket then a 1/2 a chimney with 2-3 chunks of apple wood. That sound about right?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

I've been reading these forums for a few weeks and am excited to give it a shot!

Welcome to the group. I would fully fill the charcoal ring, you can always close all the vents when your done your cook and save the remaining unburnt charcoal the next time. Don't forget to catch your temps on the way up and start adjusting your vents before your set temp.

I agree with Bob, better to have left or coals than not enough.
Also, expect the WSM to run a little hot the first few cooks.

like your plans especially if you are doing st louis cut spare ribs.....if you are doing baby backs 5 hours at 250-275 might be a little too much time. I would start checking for done around 3.5 hour mark. and just temp the chicken to done at 165 in breast, 170 in thigh and you will be GOLDEN.

Let us know how it goes!