Noobie Question -- Homebrew differencies -- HELP

Bob Ivey

TVWBB Emerald Member
Ok, I have looked at the high end manufactured ATC's and have a good handle on what they are about. I have gone through a lot of the threads in this section. I am sure my questions have been answered before but I have not found them. It looks like the heatermeter works like the cyberq and others for a lot less money. Building a kit is not a problem for me so that is not an issue. What is the difference between a LinkMeter and a heatermeter. What is a raspberry pi. I get the idea it is the interface for a heatermeter to a computer network.

I guess what I am asking is what is the best approach and how do they compare to the commercially available products. Obviously the commercial products are more expensive. I can build kits with no problem. I am not fluent in linux but because of my work I am comfortable with networks. I am a low voltage contractor and install alarms, home theater, and phone systems.

Recommendations and comparisons will be greatly appreciated. Pardon my running on a bit but I am not really sure exactly what to ask.

Thanks

a linkmeter i believe uses the the linksys wrt54g. the heater meter is the actual board.
the linksys method is outdated and no longer supported, not to mention you can actually get a raspberry pi for cheaper then you can get the required router for the earlier version.
raspberrypi is a small 35 dollar computer that is all in one and is linux based for the most part. You definetely want to build heatermeter plus raspberrypi. btw you may want to research how you want to enclose it all and things like that. I have a thread were i am working on a weather resistant model but you have to solder things in a different way and it requires a few different component. I built one board and no that i see what i really want to do i am building another and weather resistant enclosure