Page 1 of 64 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Roadside Chicken

TVWBB Olympian
    If you like the chicken from the roadside chicken stands then you'll like this. I've been making this for about 15 years now and it's pretty darn good.
    ROADSIDE CHICKEN
    1 cup white vinegar
    1/2 cup veg oil
    1/4 cup worcestershire sauce
    1 TBS Sea or Kosher salt
    1 TBS white sugar
    1 tsp garlic powder
    1 tsp onion powder
    1 tsp white pepper
    1/2 tsp celery salt
    Mix/shake till well dissolved. I put mine in a old worcestershire bottle with the shaker top. You can marrinate the chicken in the sauce for up to 2-8 hrs before cooking. If so discard marinade and make fresh for the cooking sauce. I apply the sauce every 5 min to both sides and turn every 5-10 min. Apply one final coating 5 min before removing from the grill. You can't put too much sauce on while grilling. It will build up a nice layer of flavors. I use the kettle but i think it would do well on the WSM (Larry used it) with no water pan and a high heat cook. I usally add one small piece of apple wood while grilling also. Hope you like it. Enjoy
    EDIT: If you are going to marinate the chicken first, then leave the oil out for the marinade proccess. Make up a fresh batch for basting the chicken with the oil in the sauce.
    "When I die, I'll donate my body to science too see how big my smoke ring is "
    Lump, It's what I'm cooking over. Chris A, Thanks for letting me play here.

TVWBB Emerald Member
    Thanks Bryan,

I plan to try this on my gasser (with a bit of smoke wood for flavor).

Ray
    "queing, teeing, and being in NC"

TVWBB Platinum Member
    I can vouch for this recipe ~ It's goooo-Ooood!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bill

TVWBB Member
    I was thinking of trying the Roadside Chicken recipe on a whole chicken cooked in the WSM at about 350 with a foiled pan (cherry smoke wood).