ribs..frozen or not

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I am going out tomorrow to buy ribs for my first cook. I am trying the BRITU experiment. I looked at two stores today (stator bros, and Albertsons) both sell frozen. I don't have a costco card nor do I have a desire to get one. Does it make a big difference whether you buy them frozen or not..I mean, I want to do the best I can to justify the 300+ dollars I have spent, and I had better impress the hell out of my wife. I am going to see if there are any butchers around here now, but I am not counting on it. What do you think?

BTW...Albertsons was the only store that had baby back ribs, Stator had pork back and spare ribs only...I am really new to this (but willing to learn), Baby backs were 4.99lb (is that fair?), is going from Baby backs to spare ribs as big a jump as from top sirloin to porterhouse (I do at least know my steaks...lol)?

If frozen is the best you can do, you don't have much choice. I have purchased "previously frozen" spares in the past and was not dissatisfied. Even cooked them side-by-side with fresh and could tell no difference. $4.99/lb. is not outrageous for BBs at a grocery-- Albertson's is not famous for low prices from what I can tell at the one here-- but I prefer to catch them on sale elsewhere if I want to do them. BBs are usually leaner and a little meatier than spares, but obviously smaller as well. I believe most folks consider BBs a step above spares.

thanks, comprehensive and informative...that was a big help.

Hi Brian,
I bought some spares from my local Stater Bros. on Wednesday. They were previously frozen, but thawed. They worked just fine. One has to be careful, though with Stater's. I've gone in to buy ribs and found the racks to be frozen solid.