Sugar / Splenda question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tim_M

I'm off sugar, so I'm looking at all these great recipes... I gotta try some of them.

So with Rubs/mops/sauces, Is the sugar used primarily for the sweetness, or for its ability to caramelize? Since Splenda doesn't burn or caramelize, Can I just substitute, or am I bound for failure?

Thanks all

--T

Sugar is used primarily for sweetness though this varies from time to time depending on recipe and use. Elements containing natural sugars will brown/caramelize on their own so sugar is not required for most aspects of cooking.

I have been using Splenda in sauces for a couple of years now. Good idea to use a bit less than the amount of sugar called for. It helps to avoid detecting the difference in taste from real sugar and, as you will find once you are off sugar for a while, things just taste better with less sugar.

One other piece of advise - just don't tell anyone and they will never know. Our guests have raved about the sauces and never known.

Thanks Dave,

I actually did my first cook this past weekend using splenda in a rub and sauce, and no one knew the difference.

I've been off sugar for two years now, so I know exactly what you mean about the need for less sugar.

--T

Hi Tim

Great to hear it worked out. I haven't actually tried it in a rub - so that's good to know.

I wish we could get food manufactures to dial back the sugar a couple of notches. I think they've been slowing increasing it over the years. Tastes awful once weened from it.

I've been making all of my own carbonated beverages using fresh fruit juice cut half & half with club soda. And a touch of splenda if necessary. I also make sangria without sugar - it's fabulous.

All the best,

Dave