Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Stokerlog + iPad

  1. #1
    TVWBB Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    36
    Using VNC, I am able to view Stokerlog on my ipad.

    Very cool. The ipad is a more convenient monitor to drag around with me. Just need to install VNC on Stokerlog workstation and on the ipad.

  2. #2
    TVWBB All-Star
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,144
    That is really cool!

  3. #3
    TVWBB Fan
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    146
    How does this work? I have VNC on my iPad. Do I just install on my laptop and launch on both?

    Does it enable you to make changes to the temps, alarms, etc. on the iPad like on my laptop? Or just view the Stokerlog?

    Thanks for any help.

    Kg

  4. #4
    TVWBB All-Star
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,144
    You will have remote access to it as if you are on the PC so everything you can do locally, you can do remotely. So you should be able to fully control stokerlog/stoker including changing temps, alarms, etc.

  5. #5
    TVWBB Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    36
    <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by KeithG:
    How does this work? I have VNC on my iPad. Do I just install on my laptop and launch on both?

    Does it enable you to make changes to the temps, alarms, etc. on the iPad like on my laptop? Or just view the Stokerlog?

    Thanks for any help.

    Kg </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

    Yes, need VNC server running on the PC and a VNC client running on the ipad.

    You do have full control, although I don't know if there is a way to invoke the ipad keyboard with any of the vnc clients available. You can open the windows onscreen keyboard and operate it that way.

    I do end up using it mostly to monitor and mute alarms which is very easy.

  6. #6
    TVWBB Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    36
    A poor picture of my ipad displaying stokerlog.


  7. #7
    TVWBB Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    36
    The other nice thing about using vnc is that multiple clients can access it.

    I run Stokerlog on a headless home automation machine that is on 24/7. I use VNC also from my main desktop PC, which goes to sleep after a timeout period and overnight. This allows it to keep running on overnight cooks and still let's my powerful machine be able to sleep as normal.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Savannah, GA
    Posts
    25
    I am using 'Splashtop' iPad and iPhone app. The iPhone app was free (as is the Streamer you load on the other machine) it also is available for Android and Palm Pre. iPad version was 80% off at $1.99. Breeze to set up!

Similar Threads

  1. this is missing on my ipad
    By Mike Freel in forum Healthy Grilling
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-26-2014, 06:37 PM
  2. TVWB via IPad
    By R. Hanson ("Rondo") in forum vBulletin Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-18-2013, 10:07 AM
  3. Best iPad app for controlling my Stoker
    By Rob K in forum Automatic Temperature Control Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-23-2013, 08:54 AM
  4. Stoker and iPad
    By Ian F in forum Automatic Temperature Control Systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-13-2012, 11:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •